THE OFFICIAL OUTPUTTING OUR COVERAGE BLOG

Where Smart Picks Go to Die

Football Fantasy’s Fun Fact Friday…yep, I have a headache

So it’s Thursday night and I’ve got a headache and trying to dig up some interesting facts and of course I get distracted by none other than cat memes! I mean come on, it popped up during my research what else am I supposed to do, ignore it? Seriously, that’d be rude. But I’m back on track…facts on my brain and my brain on the facts. None other than the facts of FOOTBALL!!! I have to say all this research I’ve been doing for the sake of blog writing has really sharpened my football knowledge…or at least has impressed some people (*beams with pride*). When your standing in a group of football knowledgeable men and you spout off a fact that they don’t know  they suddenly have to check an “e-mail”. Yep I’ve seen it, the surprised look on their face after checking online and noticing, to their bewilderment, that my fact was true. So what else can I say except that  becoming more aware of the football world has made me, what’s the word I’m looking for, more awesome as a Y chromosome  human being. Yeah, impressively awesome, I like the sound of that.

As of last week we made it to #20 in the Football Fantasy’s Fun Facts. So here’s a quick recap:
(Wanna check out the full article? Here it is: Football Fantasy’s Fun Fact Friday…Itty Bitty Kitty Committee)

#11 – Twinkle, twinkle little star Robert Smith knows where you are.
#12 – *Checks and Rolls Barrel of Gun* Anyone wanna play Russian Roulette?
#13 – Let’s get the party started!!!
#14 – Very first episode of Survivor, the Dallas Texans didn’t make it.
#15 – The “Loyal Fan Award” goes to…
#16 – What exactly does a “Cleveland Brown” look like?
#17 – I bet you can’t pronounce “Bob” Sanders real first name!
#18 – O’ Captain, My Captain!
#19 – Go down into Runners Pose, Bring your arms up into Warrior One, Warrior Two, Back to Runners Pose…
#20 – What do we have Johnny? A Sleeper!!!
-haha!-
#20 – It’s very “moo”ving when you lay your life down for the sport.

I feel like a kicker being iced by time outs because this headache is halting my writing abilities. (Geez, keep the snickers to a minimum, I actually do have some writing abilities!) Either way the game must go on! On to the facts!

Football Fantasy’s Fun Fact Friday!

Fun Fact #21…”I can feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord
And I’ve been waiting for this moment for all my life, oh Lord
Can you feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord, oh Lord”
If you guessed that was the song “In the air tonight” by Phil Collins then you were correct.  Not exactly football, BUT it is Ray Lewis’ favorite song. Kinda funny how it goes with winning the Super Bowl and Retiring in the same night…Did you seriously feel that in the air? Or had you been waiting for that moment your entire life, Ray?

Fun Fact #22…In post World War II the world of football changed. The talent of years past was flattened like a pancake as The Rams introduced the first African American players in the league to play on their team.  Just so you know this fact is only racist if you think it’s racist and you know what I think it is, awesome! Brother’s got game, what can I say? I mean it’s not like you can ignore the facts!

Fun Fact #23…FUUUUUUUMMMMMBLLLLLEEEEE!!!!! Yep I’m pretty sure that got old quick for the 1938 Chicago Bears. Those poor poor Bears just couldn’t resist the buttery goodness of popcorn as they ended their year with the most fumbles of all time with 56.

*That fact was a fumble of a fact, so let’s try that again.*

Fun Fact #23…By the time the Super Bowl comes around we have finally come out of our Thanksgiving Tryptophan Comas, we must be ravenously starving! Starving for all the cocktail weenies, chips and dip, cheese squares, brownies and chili that we can put onto our plate because coming after none other than the day dedicated to food, Thanksgiving, the Super Bowl comes in as numero duece as “Largest Food Consumption Day in the U.S.”

Fun Fact #24…*Spins wheel*
“Are their any Q’s?”
“Let’s see are there any Q’s?!”
Vanna graciously crosses the stage to turn the lit box around to show a Q.
Yep, you guessed it Wheel of Fortune. If you were really good you could have guessed the next letter as a “B” for QB Trent Green who got to make a fun appearance on the prime time game show!

Fun Fact #25…Talk about talent out ranking age! Dick LeBeau is the oldest rookie head coach to ever stand on the sidelines of the NFL at 63. Dick got hired by the Bengals in 2000. Not many men get to see their dreams lived out, but he obviously kept telling his little dream engine, “I think I can! I think I can!”

Fun Fact #26…Time to poll the players and get the dirt on who they view as the dirtiest player. The votes were cast and the award goes to *drum rolls*…Safety Rodney Harrison! Not only did he receive this award once but he’s received it TWICE! 2004 and 2006! As my Granny would say while playing a rough game of DirtyBoard, “Dirty, Dirty, Dirty!”

Fun Fact #27…Talk about robbing the cradle! Little John Elway didn’t even have time to hit on his first college girl before being drafted straight from high school into playing professional baseball for the Kansas City Royals in 1979. Thank goodness he realized the mistress baseball really was and came to marry and spend the rest of his career in the NFL.

Fun Fact #28…Tony Dungy, who I am a huge fan of, was the first African-American coach to win a Super Bowl. Yep, I don’t even have to make that fact interesting. Having Tony in it is enough.

Fun Fact #29…The name “Jones” sounds kinda common, right? Like “Keeping up with the Jones’?” Well that’s exactly what every player has to do now, keep up with the Jones’! Seahawks RB Julius Jones and his younger brother The Jets RB Thomas Jones are the first brothers to both rush 1,000 yards in a single season! Run Jones Brothers! Run!

Fun

Both Mine

Fact #30…Keeping it within the realm of brotherly love is none other than the Manning brothers Payton and Eli. They are the only brothers to both with a Super Bowl and if that wasn’t enough to both grab the MVP award as well! Talk about over achieving! I can just see their childhood’s now…eh, I believe we all would come to the same over achieving scenarios. (Little joke…What do the Manning brothers say about winning both the Super Bowl and it’s MVP award?)

As the Manning brothers nab the final fact, as only Super Bowl MVP’ers can do, I shall say, “So long, farewell, Auf wiedersehen, Goodbye!” (I’m blaming my headache for combining football and Sound of Music…excuse my X chromosome.) Have an interesting fact about football or whatever you think would amuse me? Leave it in the comments and I’ll add it to the list next week!

About yourfootballfantasy

Every heart-beating, jersey-wearing, NFL-loving man wants a woman who loves football as much as he does. Well that's who I am. I am YourFootballFantasy! I'm here to bring you a less serious twist on a sport that puts man against man, offense against defense and team against team. I'm here to give you the scoop of awesomeness you never knew you needed but now can't live without! I'm here to bring you the truth, or whatever else I feel, from a woman's perspective! On other notes, I love cat memes, action movies and strange facts :D Interested or at the least slightly intrigued? Well check me out at: www.outputtingourcoverage.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2013 by in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , .
